white people judging whether a Chinese restaurant is “authentic”

Christopher Huang
3 min readJun 25, 2019

Victoria and I were eating at a Chinese restaurant yesterday, and I overheard 3 white people having a conversation the table behind me; one person asked “is this an authentic Chinese restaurant?” and another replied “yeah this is pretty authentic.”

I was about to engage them to tell them that they don’t get to decide what is or isn’t authentic, even if they spent a few days in Asia or are “food critics,” and give a brief history of white supremacy in food, but Victoria was hungry and told me “just mind your own business”…

--

--

Christopher Huang

pro photographer who cares about the impact of imagery as any storyteller should christopherhuang.com, IG/FB: christopherhuang, christopherhuangphotography